North India Times
North India Breaking political, entertainment and general news

June 21 declared International Day of Yoga

0 224

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/northcyp/public_html/wp-content/themes/publisher1/includes/func-review-rating.php on line 212

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/northcyp/public_html/wp-content/themes/publisher1/includes/func-review-rating.php on line 213

yogaTwenty First June will be observed as the International Day of Yoga by the United Nations every year. The UN General Assembly last night adopted a resolution in this regard with a record number of 175 country as co-sponsors.

The idea for declaring an International Day of Yoga at the United Nations was formally proposed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his maiden address to the General Assembly on 27th of September this year.

Modi, in his address, had said that Yoga is an invaluable gift of ancient Indian tradition. It embodies unity of mind and body; thought and action; restraint and fulfillment; harmony between man and nature; a holistic approach to health and well being. By changing lifestyle and creating consciousness, it can help deal with climate change. He had indicated that 21st June, one of the two solstices, which is the longest day in the Northern Hemisphere, has special significance in many parts of the world, and could be considered for adoption as the International Day of Yoga by the United Nations.

It is for the first time that such an initiative has been proposed and implemented by any country in the UN General Assembly in less than 90 days.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has welcomed the UN decision of declaring 21st June as International Day of Yoga. He profusely thanked all Nations that co-sponsored the resolution. Mr. Modi said, countless people across the world made Yoga an integral part of their lives and this will inspire many more people towards Yoga which has the power to bring the entire humankind together. The Prime Minister said, Yoga beautifully combines Gyan (knowledge), Karm (work) and Bhakti (devotion).

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.