No censure motion against Sadhvi Jyoti:Naqvi

Shadvi Niranjan JyotiGovernment on Friday said it will not entertain any demand of nine opposition parties to bring a censure motion against Union Minister Shadvi Niranjan Jyoti for her derogatory remarks.

Talking to reporters outside Parliament, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi appealed the opposition parties to treat the matter as closed. He said Ms. Jyoti has already tendered apology and Prime Minister also disapproved the comments.

Naqvi hoped that the Rajya Sabha will function smoothly from Monday. Samajwadi party leader Ramgopal Yadav said that his party wants the house function and government should make an amicable solution to break the logjam.

Derek O’Brien of TMC said that the opposition parties have toned down their demand from sacking the Minister to passing a resolution without naming anyone but government is not ready to accept it. He told media outside Parliament, if BJP will continue to stick to its decision, these parties will meet again on Monday morning to chalk out their strategy. JD(U) leader K.C. Tyagi said that it is the government’s responsibility to ensure smooth business in the house and it should find a solution to break the present impasse in the Rajya Sabha. Earlier in the day, nine parties including Congress, Samajwadi Party, TMC, JD(U), BSP, CPIM and DMK urged the government to accept their resolution to censure Ms. Jyoti for her remarks.

Meanwhile, Congress today expressed hope that the government will accept the joint opposition resolution proposed to condemn the attempts to outrage the Constitution by making inflammatory speeches.

The proposed resolution moved to the government to adopt in Parliament in the backdrop of continuing uproar against the derogatory remarks made by Union Minister Niranjan Jyoti. Briefing media in New Delhi, party senior leader Salman Khurshid asserted that the government should accept the resolution to clear its stand on preventing such incidents in future. The resolution was signed by nine major opposition parties including the Congress, Samajwadi party, TMC and Left.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.